top of page

Winner: 2022 Hugo Award for Best Series

Where it all began--the first three books in Seanan McGuire's multi-Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series.


Join the students of Eleanor West, and jump through doors into worlds both dangerous and extraordinary.

Book 1: Every Heart a Doorway
Book 2: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Book 3: Beneath the Sugar Sky


Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere... else.


But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.


Meet Nancy, cast out of her world by the Lord of the Dead; Jack and Jill, each adopted by a monster of the Moors; Sumi and her impossible daughter, Rini.


Three worlds, three adventures, three sets of lives destined to intersect.


Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations / No Visitors / No Quests


But quests are what these children do best...

Be Sure: Wayward Children Books 1-3 by Seanan McGuire

  • Format: Paperback

    ISBN: 9781250198921

    Imprint: St Martin's Press

  • “With Every Heart a Doorway, McGuire has created her own mini-masterpiece of portal fantasy -- a jewel of a book that deserves to be shelved with Lewis Carroll's and C. S. Lewis' classics, even as it carves its own precocious space between them.” --National Public Radio

    “This is a gorgeous story: sometimes mean, sometimes angry, and always exciting” --Cory Doctorow for BoingBoing

    “McGuire's lyrical prose makes this novella a rich experience.” --Library Journal, starred review

bottom of page