top of page

Revolution is brewing in the semi-submerged city of Tiankawi, between humans and the fathomfolk - sirens, sea witches, kelpies, and kappas - who live in its waters. This debut fantasy inspired by East Asian mythology and watery folk tales is perfect for fans of Jade City, The Bone Shard Daughter and House of Earth and Blood.

Welcome to Tiankawi - shining pearl of human civilization and a safe haven for those fleeing civil unrest. Or at least, that's how it first appears. But in the semi-flooded city, humans are, quite literally, on top: peering down from shining towers and aerial walkways on the fathomfolk - sirens, seawitches, kelpies and kappas - who live in the polluted waters below.

For half-siren Mira, promotion to captain of the border guard means an opportunity to help her downtrodden people. But if earning the trust and respect of her human colleagues wasn't hard enough, everything Mira has worked towards is put in jeopardy when Nami, a know-it-all water dragon - fathomfolk royalty - is exiled to the city. When extremists sabotage the annual boat race, violence erupts, as does the clampdown on fathomfolk rights. Both Nami and Mira must decide if the cost of change is worth paying, or if Tiankawi should be left to drown.

    Fathomfolk by Eliza Chan

    £18.99Price
    • Format: Hardback

      ISBN: 9780356522395

      Imprint: Orbit

    • Please be aware that if you purchase any in-stock items alongside your pre-order, all items in your order be shipped when your pre-order arrives. Please place a separate order if you need the in-stock items sooner. Thank you!