top of page

It is the year 1814 and Miss Maelys Mitchelmore finds her entry into the highest society of Bath hindered by an irritating curse. It begins innocuously enough, with her dress slowly unmaking itself over the course of an evening at the ball of the season, a scandal she only narrowly manages to escape. However, as the curse progresses to more fatal proportions, she realises she must seek out urgent assistance, even if that means mixing with the most undesirable company - and there are few less desirable allies than the brooding Lady Georgiana Landrake - who may or may not have murdered her own father and brothers to inherit their fortune.

If one is to believe the gossip, she might be some kind of malign enchantress. Then again, a malign enchantress might be exactly what Miss Mitchelmore needs. A devilishly funny and heartwarming sapphic Regency romantasy from TikTok titan and bestselling author of Boyfriend Material Alexis Hall. Mortal Follies is unmissable for fans of Juno Dawson's Her Majesty's Royal Coven, Sophie Irwin's A Lady's Guide to Fortune Hunting, and Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light.

Mortal Follies by Alexis Hall

£16.99Price
Out of Stock
  • Format: Hardback

    ISBN: 9781399616430

    Imprint: Gollancz 

  • 'A lovely, pitch-perfect romance, with an alternate Regency setting that is well developed and has tremendous charm... Part historical, part fantasy, all top-notch queer romance' – KIRKUS REVIEWS (starred review)

     

    'A fresh and delightful addition to the queer romance canon... All the interpersonal drama of Jane Austen meets all the complex treachery of Greek mythology' – PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review)

     

    'Whimsically wonderful, witty writing that evokes Jane Austen and Oscar Wilde... An effervescent, genre-blurring romantic confection' – BOOKLIST

bottom of page