top of page

Includes a free The Book Eaters bookmark. 

 

A gorgeous new fantasy horror - a book about stories and fairytales with family and love at its dark heart... Hidden across England and Scotland live six old Book Eater families. The last of their lines, they exist on the fringes of society and subsist on a diet of stories and legends. Children are rare and their numbers have dwindled, so when Devon Fairweather's second child is born a dreaded Mind Eater - a perversion of her own kind, who consumes not stories but the minds and souls of humans - she flees before he can be turned into a weapon for the family... or worse.

 

Living among humans and finding prey for her son, Devon seeks a cure for his hunger.

 

But time is running out - for her family want her back, and with every soul her son consumes he loses a little more of himself... This is a story of escape, a mother's savage devotion and a queer love that will electrify readers looking for something beguiling, thrilling, strange and new. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Susanna Clarke.

The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean

£14.99 Regular Price
£11.99Sale Price
  • Format: Hardback

    ISBN: 9780008479442

    Publisher: HarperVoyager

  • 'Raw and imaginative, this gritty, gothic anti-fairytale knows the truth: love will make a villain out of anyone.' – Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six.

     

    'Sunyi Dean's The Book Eaters is a darkly sweet pastry of a book about family, betrayal, and the lengths we go to for the ones we love.' – Christopher Buehlman, author of The Blacktongue Thief

     

    'Full of grit and humanity, Sunyi Dean expertly weaves the complexities of motherhood, loyalty and found family in a world not far from our own. Dean's debut has already established her as a master of craft. If I were a book eater, this novel would be one to savour.' – Saara El-Arifi, author of The Final Strife.

bottom of page